reddit logo

Join us for a Reddit Ask Me Anything with Stacy Konkiel (@skonkiel), Outreach & Engagement Manager at Altmetric, at 6pm GMT/1pm EST on the 10th May.

The Reddit Ask Me Anything forum is a great way to engage and interact with subject experts in a direct and honest Q&A, asking those burning questions you’ve always wanted to get their perspective on! Mark Hahnel, the founder of Figshare, Euan Adie, the founder of Altmetric and John Hammersley, co-founder of Overleaf, have also all participated in this popular discussion forum.

You can submit your questions to Stacy on Reddit here!

Following their lead, on Tuesday 10th May at 6pm UK time / 1pm EST Stacy Konkiel, Altmetric’s Outreach & Engagement Manager, will be taking part in an AMA on the AskScience subreddit.

Photo on 4-22-16 at 4.53 PM #2

Stacy plans to talk about what the metrics and indicators we like to rely upon in science (impact factor, altmetrics, citation counts, etc) to understand “broader impact” and “intellectual merit,” are actually measuring what we purport they measure.

She is not sure they do! And instead thinks that right now, we’re just using rough proxies to understand influence and attention and that we’re in danger of abusing the metrics that are supposed to save us all, altmetrics, just like science has done with the journal impact factor.

Stacy will talk about improving measures of research impact, but is also open to taking other relevant questions.

If you wish to participate in the Ask Me Anything, you will need to register with Reddit. There will also be some live tweeting from @altmetric and @digitalsci, and questions on the #AskStacyAltmetric hashtag, so keep your eyes peeled!