Skip to content
Search Digital Science

Programme and speakers


Part 1: Dimensions Focus (60 mins)

Daneil Hook, CEO, Digital Science

9:00 – 9:15 am ET / 2: 00-2:15 pm BST: Welcome & Introduction
Speaker: Daniel Hook, CEO, Digital Science
Daniel has held many positions within Digital Science since joining the business four years ago as co-founder of Symplectic, one of Digital Science’s first portfolio companies. Most recently, he has served as Director of Research Metrics, whilst also acting as interim COO of portfolio company, Figshare. Daniel was a PhD student in Theoretical Physics at Imperial College London before he joined Digital Science.

Ben McLeish

9:15 – 9:30 am ET / 2: 15 – 2:30 pm BST: Dimensions Portfolio Presentation
Speaker: Ben McLeish, Product Sales Team Lead – EMEA, Altmetric and Dimensions
Ben is European Product Sales Team Lead for Altmetric and Dimensions and has been at Digital Science since 2014. He has previously worked at Wiley, ProQuest and the American Chemical Society, as well as in media monitoring services. 

9:30 – 9:45 am ET / 2:30 – 2:45 pm BST: Dimensions Publisher Case Study
Speaker: Lisa Walton, Global Publishing Strategy Manager, BMJ Publishing Group
Lisa Walton is the Global Publishing Strategy Manager at BMJ Publishing Group, where she leads on reporting, modelling and strategic analysis for the portfolio of medical journals. BMJ is a global healthcare knowledge provider with a vision for a healthier world, publishing over 60 medical and allied science journals.

9:45 – 10:00 am ET / 2:45 – 3:00 pm BST: Q&A
Moderator: Betsy Donohue, Managing Director, Publisher Relations, Digital Science
Betsy joined Digital Science in October 2013 and has nearly 20 years experience in the publishing industry, serving in a variety of marketing, sales and business development positions. For nine of those years, Betsy was dedicated to developing and executing publisher-facing commercial strategies at Swets, North America. She also spent several years developing business with STM publishers, working for the knowledge services and “smart content” company, Scope eKnowledge. Most recently Betsy worked at the Ingram Content Group, where she led the development and market launch of Ingram’s print on demand (POD) and online portal fulfilment solution for print journals.

Break time

10:00  – 10:30 am ET /3:00 – 3:30 pm BST: 30 MINUTE BREAK


Part 2: Ripeta Focus (45 mins)

Leslie Ripeta - Headshot

10:30 – 10:45 am ET / 3:30 – 3:45 pm BST: Ripeta Portfolio Presentation
Speaker: Leslie McIntosh, CEO & Founder, Ripeta
Dr. Leslie McIntosh, PhD, MPH is the founder and CEO who is an internationally known consultant, speaker, and researcher passionate about mentoring the next generation of data scientists. She is active in the Research Data Alliance, grew the St. Louis Machine Learning and Data Science Meetup to over 1500 participants, and was a fellow with a San Francisco based VC firm. She recently concluded as the Director of Center for Biomedical Informatics (CBMI) at Washington University in St. Louis where she led a dynamic team of 25 individuals facilitating biomedical informatics services. Dr. McIntosh has a focus of assessing and improving the full research cycle (data collection, management, sharing, discoverability) and making the research process reproducible. She holds a Masters and PhD in Public Health with concentrations in Biostatistics and Epidemiology from Saint Louis University.

10:45 -11:00 am ET / 3:45 – 4:00 pm BST: Ripeta Publisher Case Study
Speaker: Steve Scott, Director of Portfolio Development, Digital Science
Steve is part of the original Digital Science management team, over 12 years ago. Focussed on early-stage pipeline deals, he has been involved in the majority of Digital Science’s portfolio investments, helping founders through product and business model validation to launch and growth. Prior to Digital Science, Steve was a founder of his own start-up, Mindhouse, and subsequently went on to work with a number of start-up businesses in the commercial sector.


Cathy Holland Headshot-square

11:00 – 11:15am ET / 4:00 – 4:15 pm BST: Q&A
Moderator: Cathy Holland, Director, Global Publisher Business Development, Digital Science
Cathy joined Digital Science in April of 2016 as part of the publisher relations team. She has over 10 years of experience in the STM publishing industry. Earlier in her career she spent the majority of her time working with library consortia worldwide to bring the journals from AAAS/Science to their patrons. Through working on a global scale she gained an extensive amount of international business knowledge and learned how to think outside the box when working with customers.

Break time

11:15 – 11:45 am ET /4:15 – 4:45 pm BST: 30 MINUTE BREAK



Part 3: Figshare Focus (45 mins)

11:45 – 12:00 pm ET / 4:45 – 5:00 pm BST: Figshare Portfolio Presentation
Speaker: Mark Hahnel, Founder & CEO, Figshare
Mark Hahnel is the CEO and founder of Figshare, which he created whilst completing his PhD in stem cell biology at Imperial College London.  Figshare currently provides research data infrastructure for institutions, publishers and funders globally.  He is  passionate about open science and the potential it has to revolutionize the research community.   

12:00 – 12:15 pm ET / 5:00 – 5:15 pm BST: Figshare Publisher Case Study
Speaker: John Sivo, Senior Business Process & Data Governance Manager, IEEE
After 8 years in management consulting, John joined IEEE 11 years ago and now leads the TechRxiv preprint server team at IEEE. In addition to previously leading IEEE’s conversion to JATS XML for all published documents, John also led the QA teams responsible for the back-end publishing systems. He is also the IEEE Publications Data Governance lead ensuring compliance with IEEE’s MDM plan.


12:15 – 12:30 pm ET / 5:15 – 5:30 pm BST: Q&A
Moderator: Helen Cooke, Director, Publisher Business Development, Digital Science
Helen joined Digital Science in April 2021 and brings almost 20 years experience in the academic publishing industry.  Helen has worked to bring e-resources to libraries and consortia worldwide holding sales, marketing and business development positions. She headed up the Journals Sales team at SAGE Publishing also working at GeoScienceWorld and Blackwell Publishing. For 8 years she was one of the owner/directors at Burgundy Information Services, working with varied publisher clients such as SPIE, Mary Ann Liebert, Canadian Science Publishing and CUP on sales and dissemination of their e-resources to libraries. 

Break time

12:30 – 1:00pm ET / 5:30 – 6:00pm BST: 30 MINUTE BREAK


Part 4: Altmetric Focus (45 mins)

Kathy Christian

1:00 – 1:15 pm ET /6:00 – 6:15pm BST: Altmetric Portfolio Presentation
Speaker: Kathy Christian, CEO, Altmetric and Chief People Office, Digital Science
Kathy is the Altmetric CEO and Digital Science Chief People Officer and has been with Altmetric since 2014. Prior to Digital Science and Altmetric, Kathy worked at Elsevier for 6 years and before that, she spent over 9 years in drug development, primarily with J&J. Kathy has an MBA from London Business School (but don’t hold that against her). When not absorbed by altmetrics, Kathy spends her time trying to exhaust her dog, Dudley (which never happens) and attempting to explain to Europeans that ‘hockey’ is played on ice, not grass (she is Canadian, after all).

1:15 – 1:30 pm ET /6:15 – 6:30pm BST: Altmetric Publisher Case Study
Speaker: Robyn Mugridge, Head of Publishing Partnerships, Frontiers
Robyn joined the Open Access publisher Frontiers in 2018, having previously worked for a number of other international publishers. In 2019 she moved onto the role of Publishing Partnerships Manager and established the Publishing Partnerships department. Promoted to Head of Publishing Partnerships in 2022, her work now focuses on strategic collaborations with societies and associations, supporting them as they engage with their communities and develop their publications by transitioning to Open Access publishing models.

Tyler Ruse headshot

1:30 – 1:45 pm ET /6:30 – 6:45 pm BST:
Q&A – Moderator: Tyler Ruse, Director of Publisher Solutions, Digital Science



1:45 – 2:00 pm ET / 6:45 – 7:00pm BST: Final remarks and close
Speaker: Betsy Donohue, Managing Director, Publisher Relations, Digital Science


We highly recommend you visit our FAQs for Attendees to find out more about how the day will run.  We would also kindly ask you read and respect our Code of Conduct for this online event. 

© 2022 Digital Science & Research Solutions Ltd. All Rights Reserved